August 24 St John – Annapolis Royal

Whale watching
Whale watching

Dist 40.91. Time 02:08:25

Ave 19.1. Elev gain 415

Pleasant easy start to the day. Had a nice leasurely brunch and then Dale Jean and Lauren drove me to the ferry terminal to catch the ship to Digby NS.

The ferry ride was 3 enjoyable hours. Water was dead calm. Saw lots of poposes and seals and when I was on the port side a whale breached on the starboard so I missed him.

The ride east along the coast was gorgeous: not too hot, not too cold and not a cloud in the act. Scenery is stunning. Got to Annapolis Royal and stopped at the tidal power plant. Very neat (engeneering wise). And then to the Dunronin campsite. $35 for a tenting spot is not cheap! Lots of RVs and only one other tent. Us tenters bonded and went too the pool together. This is a very pleasant campsite even though it’s expensive and I can’t plug in my devices (all the RV sites only have 480 V plug ins).

Leave a comment